International travel is becoming cheaper than before, so more and more countries are opening their doors to tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that global travel is now becoming much more affordable than that in the past, so a growing number of nations are promoting their tourism industry dramatically. Personally, while there will be many substantial benefits from this phenomenon, some hard problems can also be anticipated. On the one hand, increased tourism may exacerbate the issue of air pollution in many countries. To be more specific, harmful emissions released from many means of transportation, especially planes, get into the air and severely devastate the ozone layer, causing the greenhouse effect. For instance, 8% of the world’s overall greenhouse gas emission is due to tourism, in which around 90% of these emissions come from transportation. Consequently, living in an air-polluted place for a long time may raise the risk of several respiratory diseases such as lung cancer, pneumonia and tuberculosis. On the other hand, both individuals and the government can gain benefits from the rise of tourism. Firstly, an increase in tourism can provide people with more occupations. Since there will be a huge number of tourists flocking into the country, more people are required to provide the best services for those visitors. As a result, this will help reduce the unemployment rate and improve the living standards of the citizens. Secondly, the phenomenon could stimulate the economic growth of one country. To be more specific, a nation can gain a large consumption market for its products as long as that nation has a developed tourism industry. Therefore, the total GDP would be increased remarkably and the growth speed may be elevated to an unprecedented level. In conclusion, while air pollution is a splitting headache of tourism, there are still many enormous advantages, including the provision of more work and the economic rise.