In many countries, plastic bags are one the main sources of damage to the environment, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Environmental problem is one of the biggest concerns in today's world. Bags that are made of plastic materials are known to be one of the main contributors to environmental pollution. It is proposed that these plastic bags should be banned. I strongly agree with this view, and this essay will highlight why its proponents are correct. First and foremost, plastic bags and containers can remain in the environment for hundreds of thousands of years. This is because it takes a long period of time for plastic materials to disintegrate. We need to allocate a huge amount of areas to contain these plastic materials before they decay. Nowadays it is very difficult to find a space to live in a city due to overpopulation. Therefore, landfills can make this situation even worse as people struggle to look for roofs over their heads. In addition, plastic bags also pollute seas and endanger sea creatures. There are irresponsible people who throw plastic bags in public areas such as beaches and rivers. These actions can harm the marine ecosystem. For example, reports showed that deaths of sea creatures due to accidental ingestion of plastic materials had been increasing over the past few decades. Furthermore, the production of plastic materials uses a significant amount of fossil fuels. Combustion of fossil fuels releases greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxides. As a result, greenhouse gases trap heat in the atmosphere, causing global warming. In conclusion, plastic materials are one of the major sources which harm the environment. Hence, I agree that the production of plastic bags should be banned.