Studying with a group of students in a classroom is more beneficial than learning online at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Learning in student peer groups in a classroom is thought to be more advantageous compared to individual learning online at home. This essay will discuss why I agree with this statement and provide examples to base this stance on. One of the main benefits of studying in groups in class is the ability for students to foster a supportive learning environment. In areas of expertise where some students lack, others can make up for it, and vice versa. For example, in a scenario where a group of students is told to create presentation slides summarizing the lab work they have done, students with design skills can contribute to making the overall visuals of the presentation, while others with higher levels of analytical thinking can make the content of the project. Through this, students are encouraged to interact with their peers and learn together. One other prominent plus side to this approach to studying is the fact that students would be able to acquire non-academic skills, like communication and teamwork, for instance. In order to produce satisfactory results, members of a group must first communicate target objectives and foster a safe team environment before allocating tasks to each member. Moreover, team members must be able to commit to their assigned tasks and contribute the best of their efforts for the success of the group. These efforts play a significant role in building the aforementioned skills, which will continue to be useful beyond their academic years. In conclusion, I do not support learning online at home. I believe that through studying in classroom peer groups, students are able to build a supportive learning environment and garner useful soft skills, like communication and teamwork, that will remain useful in the long run.