Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

For the past few decades, it has been argued that whether governments should allocate funds on arts or public infrastructures. Admittedly, aesthetic development plays a vital role in our modern society. However, I believe that more budgets should be allocated to fundamental construction. The drawbacks of government encourage more allocations to arts developments outweigh the advantages. Expenditures on arts like music, gallery, and theatre are unnecessary budget projects for governments, which spend massive time and human power on them. For instance, it took years and thousands of workers to build an art museum. Hence, if there were equal time and energy allocated to public facilities, much more costs could be saved. There are, however, certain significances for governments to pay more attention on fundamental aspects like public medical system, education, transport system, and environment. Firstly, it is problematic to conduct art creation without a normal and harmony life environment in a society. Imagine a country which suffered from crime and disease all year, the development of arts is the last agenda that the government should take into consideration. Secondly, most of the government budgets are composed of local taxes, the main purpose of tax payer is to live under a healthy and harmony conditions. In this case, the government should not waste its budgets on other unnecessary aspects. Finally, more credibility could be increased for the government if they focus more on the public. In conclusion, it is vital for government spends primary funds on public facilities improvements rather than arts emergent. How to cater to dwellers’ basic living requirements has the priority beyond arts development.