Nowadays, many animal species are becoming extinct. Some people believe that countries and individuals must solve this problem, others believe that human beings aremore important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is unfortunately true that many species of animals are now on the brink of extinction. While some people believe that the interests of human welfare should be a government priority, I agree with those who argue that urgent action must be taken to prevent the further loss of animal species. On the one hand, everyone who has a social conscience will admit how important it is to bring about major socioeconomic changes to benefit the mass of humanity. Firstly, the effects of poverty, famines and natural disasters across the world are shown on TV screens every day. Therefore, the struggle for a more egalitarian society, in which natural resources are shared, must be pursued vigorously. Secondly, another issue that must be addressed if everyone is to have a decent life is to end wars. The huge allocation of resources to defence budgets - $750 billion annually in the USA alone – could be used to preserve human life, not destroy it. On the other hand, I agree with those in the green movement who insist that the protection of endangered species of animals and the protection of the human species go hand-in-hand. Governments should implement environmentally-friendly policies, protecting wildlife habitats, such as the tiger reserves in India, while will create local jobs in eco-tourism. They should also introduce restrictions on pollution and other forms of environmental degradation. For example, the dumping of toxic waste into the rivers and oceans, kills rare marine creatures and destroys traditional fishing communities. Individuals must play a part too, by supporting organisations like Greenpeace or the World Wildlife Fund. In conclusion, I believe that the welfare of humans cannot be separated from saving animal species from extinction, and the campaign for both objectives should unite everyone.