The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over whether raising the cost of gas is crucial. While this idea is valid to some extent, I do not regard myself as an advocate of it and hold a strong view that there is another alternative solution. Without a shadow of a doubt, boosting the price of fuel is not the optimal tactic to solve the environmental problem. Given the fact that inelastic demand for oil is ever-growing as almost all vehicles run on gas. People in this day and age have an exorable appetite for going to work and school, so even if the fuel price drastically increases, it makes no difference in reducing gas emissions. For example, although the Vietnamese authorities impose higher gas taxes, a wave of people still flock to purchase it to meet their needs. Hence, it is not an ideal method with a view to diminishing environmental degradation. While the ineffective impact of the development in the price of gasoline is widely acknowledged, there is a far-reaching solution to address surrounding issues. Since electric vehicles are powered by renewable energy, they seem not to release carbon dioxide, which does not deteriorate the air quality detrimentally. For instance, Vinfast, which is an eminent carmaker in Vietnam, has an eco-friendly means of transport. Therefore, not only does it satisfy the residents’ desires, but it also has no adverse effects on the environment. In conclusion, besides imposing a criminally expensive levy on gas costs, using greener substitutes can dramatically resolve the alarmingly contaminated surroundings.