Obesity has been found to be a serious health hazard the world over, over the past few decades. What are the causes behind it and what are the effects of it on various sections of the community?

It is said that recently, being overweight become much more severe worldwide. There are various factors that lead to this problem, and also this creates a negative effect on the government. First and foremost, there are enormous reasons causing obesity. It is true that the availability of a wide range of cuisines encourages the public to eat more. Likewise, due to globalization, people tend to try dishes from different countries, such as Pad thai from Thailand, and fish and chips from Britain. Multiple pieces of research illustrate over 90% of individuals claimed that they eat more foods compared to last decade, especially meats. It reveals that the folk are being encouraged to consume more delicious cultural meals. When they consume more high-calories dishes and they have a higher chance to gain weight. Consequently, they will suffer from obesity. In addition, in this day and age, long working hours and thus lack of exercise in the community. It is clear that the workforce has to work for at least 8 hours per day and sit all the time in front of the computer, therefore they are unable to spend time working out, such as doing full body HIIT or going jogging. Insufficient exercise and unbalanced diets have a greater possibility become overweight. On a whole, the availability of different delicious dishes, as well as, not enough exercise to burn calories are the reasons for this situation. Furthermore, it is undoubted that the government have to bear the financial burden due to the demand for healthcare services soaring spectacularly. As we all know, those suffering from being overweight will have a higher chance to get involved in other illnesses, like cardiovascular diseases, high blood pressure and diabetes. Healing this kind of long-term disease requires medical services, for instance, regular follow-up by the physician and medication treatment. Moreover, the authority will then have to allocate more resources to the healthcare sector to cure patients who have long-term illnesses. Take Hong Kong as an example, ginormous people have long-term illnesses, and the council have to spend more expenditure on public medical service in an attempt to help them to get rid of the diseases. As a result, the increasing number of obesity will bring a negative impact on the authority. In a nutshell, there is a variety of causes leading to this condition, and undoubted that it brings drawbacks to the council.