Some people believe that success means earning a lot of money. Others believe that success is defined by personal happiness. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While there are people who consider personal happiness as success, there are others who think being wealthy is the name of being successful. I personally agree more with the second definition of success. In my opinion, wealthy status determines success rather than one’s happiness and there are several reasons why I think so. As far as I’m concerned, people who have high net worth are often considered successful. Since the beginning of history, there has been a social measurement that assesses people by their position in society and how rich they are. And that is a natural phenomenon in the human race. People who possess a large amount of money also have a great impact on the world. For example, individuals like Elon Musk and Bill Gates contribute to global trade and trends. In addition, even thinking with common sense, we don’t call a broke happy person successful. Also, it has been proven that people can reach success without being happy in the number of researches conducted on successful people (Juan, 2012). It is common that most striving people struggle with mental health issues. I barely see a prosperous person completely happy with their life. Moreover, being too optimistic about life is dangerous in some way and sometimes being so pulls them back from reaching triumph. However, people with great personal delight in their lives tend to achieve success, still no matter how much they are happy, society still does not consider them as much successful. In conclusion, the term being successful has to do more with earning a lot of money than personal contentment.