Small businesses are disappearing and are being replaced by large multinational companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Lately, it has been observed that big companies are overpowering the market and as a result of that, small businesses are suffering to a large extent. Though there are a few disadvantages like the loss of jobs for people doing small businesses, I think it is better from the perspective of consumers. Firstly, I would like to cite examples of retail chains like Reliance fresh or Aditya Birla’s More supermarket or online groceries. In our childhood days we used to buy goods from local shops only and whatever they would provide us were the only option for us. But nowadays, after the introduction of big retail chains like reliance fresh, More from Aditya Birla, and online groceries like – Bigbasket and Grofers, customers now have more choices and they get good discounts as well. In the, supermarkets they get everything under one roof. Earlier people had to buy different products from different shops. For example, earlier if I had to buy vegetables as well as exercise books,I had to visit two different shops, but now I can get everything under one roof which saves me time. However, if I continue to discuss the retail industry only, there are some disadvantages as well, like the small businessmen are facing stiff competition now. They are having much less revenue compared to earlier. Even I have seen a few shops have closed due to a lack of customers. So, many people are becoming jobless and they are forced to think of new ways of earning. In conclusion, I would like to mention that, if we consider all aspects, then I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. I also think that seeing the trend it seems that in future we will have very specific types of small businesses available which are not direct competitors of a big business.