People in major cities suffer from high levels of air pollution that causes health problems for many. Explain possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

In the present age, all we hear from the media are the dangers of global warming and the possible threats of contaminated air. That is why it is so well known, that pollution is a great peril for us and our health. This essay will examine the main health issues caused by polluted air and will suggest some possible solutions. Contaminated air is a mix of hazardous substances, which easily can get into our bodies and disrupt our normal bodily functions. Therefore, some time ago it was discovered by scientists, that exposure to these conditions is mainly associated with inflammation in human cells, which can result in chronic diseases, and most importantly, cancer. As it is well known, cancer is one of the most dangerous diseases that can threaten the human body. Even with today’s modern medicine, not many people survive through the treatment, and even if they do, it weakens their bodies significantly. That is why it is one of the worst problems caused by polluted air. To tackle this particular problem, people can choose to use public transportation instead of their own, or even travel on foot. Since cars are one of the biggest CO2 emitters, this is a good way to help lessen the emission. This does not sound really effective, but in fact, it is one of the easiest ways for everyone to be a part of the change, and participate in trying to make the air we all breathe at least a little bit cleaner. For instance, communities with strong public transportation reduce the percentage of their carbon footprint by almost one - third per year. Of course, this means that not only individuals should take part in this, but governments also can make a great difference by investing more in infrastructure. All in all, this is not a simple problem, that can be solved in a few months or years. It can take several decades, during which the health of the population can worsen significantly, but it is important for all of us to participate in trying to reduce pollution because that is the only way a change can be made faster.