The percentage of overweight children in the western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the present age, many people are concerned about their weight, but it is not always just because of the looks. It has been noticed that more and more children are overweight which can result in a variety of serious health issues. This essay will examine the reasons behind this tendency and how it can affect individuals in the long run. The main problem, that is behind the recent growth in the percentage of overweight children in the western society, is the change in our lifestyles. Nowadays many people work in front of computers in their offices. Therefore, adults, who actually work in those conditions, tend to raise their infants the same way, since they get used to living without any activities. Nevertheless, not many people realize, that little ones require much more physical activities than adults because they are growing individuals, who have a lot of energy. For instance, if a child does not have the opportunity to do some physical activities together with his family, he is only going to watch tv, or sit on the sofa the whole day and eat, so he would not get bored. The mentioned causes also have an impact on the little ones well being. The foremost effect is seen on the cardiovascular system which can turn into life-threatening situations, like cardiac arrest. The other possible repercussion is diabetes, which can also burden the life of a child and in the long run, can cause organ failure. Either way, it is obvious that problems concerning weight can shorten one’s life span and pose a threat of early death. All in all, it is important to follow your weight, keep a healthy diet, and maintain a physically active lifestyle, because the consequences can be cruel. But even if a person notices some problems with his weight, he should seek help from a professional, because not always it is just because of an unhealthy lifestyle.