Some people think multiple choice tests are better than tests which require you to write an essay. Other people think that tests which require you to write an essay are better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the present age, there are many people debating about what ways to test students' knowledge are the best. Some people think that writing essays during tests is too overwhelming for youngsters, meanwhile, others are convinced that tests with already given choices are too simple, because that way students can just guess. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. To start with, in an educational system multiple-choice questions are the most popular ones. This is mainly due to the performance and checking speed of exams like that. As opposed to writing paragraphs, checking one answer out of several thatseveral, that are already given, requires significantly less time. It also appears thatappears, that this type of examination is easier to prepare for and thus, easier to pass. That is why most of the students would prefer this type of test, if they had a choice because it only requires you to learn the answers, without any reasoning behind your choice. On the other hand, writing letters or other types of texts can seem more appropriate for an examination. It is mainly due to the fact thatfact that fast, that it does not leave the possibility of guessing to guessingto guess if a student does not know the answer, whereas tests actually create an opportunity to do so. That way their thorough knowledge can be checked, and not only on the facts or the subject itself, but also it can be seen, how the person thinks, forms arguments, and if he is capable of justifying his own opinion on the topic. In addition, it has been claimed thatclaimed, that there is no way to copy the whole work since there is no such thing as a 100% correct essay model. All in all, people usually prefer different methods of examination, and it is natural, given that it depends on how each one of us perceives things. Even though for many, multiple-choice tests are more convenient, I strongly believe thatbelieve, that it is much more effective to write an essay since it gives you a broader perspective on a person’s capabilities.