Obesity has been found to be a serious health hazard the world over, over the past few decades. What are the causes behind it and what are the effects of it on various sections of the community?

In this contemporary epoch, being overweight has become a controversial argument. Whilst the main reason behind this is international advertising campaigns, I am a staunch believer that the predominant effect of this phenomenon is various health problems. In this essay, the factors that have encouraged obesity, along with its consequences will be further elaborated. To embark on, commercials play a pivotal role in spreading obesity because they use children's favourite cartoon characters to gravitate teenagers. This means that when food adverts mainly target children, young people will crave these snacks and take excessive bites. An eminent example of this is the Nutella advert which uses an illusive image concerning its ingredients as being healthy. Therefore, what can be said is that authorities should censor false information to protect children. Another cause of this phenomenon is the ubiquity of cutting-edge electronics. Furthermore, the consequences of being overweight are countless since it affects a wide sector of society. In other words, if the overwhelming majority of senior citizens become obese, they will suffer from severe health complications such as cardiovascular diseases. This can be witnessed by a study conducted by Cairo University which has revealed that morbidity and mortality rates have increased as a result of being overweight. Accordingly, in a final analysis, potential health implications are the main result of increased weight. Another sector that has been severely affected by this trend is children since they are mainly targeted by food companies. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that not only do advertisements negatively affect the eating habits of children, but also they result in several health-related problems. Eventually, I am a staunch believer that without food publicity children could have been protected.