Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic development is considered to be the most crucial goal by many governors, while a group of people believe that other progress should be taken equally into account because they play important roles in developing a country. In my opinion, other aspects, such as educational and environmental progress, are as essential as growing the economy. There are many reasons why economic progress is necessary for a country. Firstly, economic growth contributes to reducing the unemployment rate by creating more job opportunities. In other words, the national budget will receive more money from taxes paid by businesses for the government to invest in infrastructure to tackle its traffic or housing problems. In addition to this, economic progress will move in tandem with improving living standards due to an increase in individuals' income. For example, a recent survey conducted in Vietnam showed that, on account of economic progress after 2008 worldwide inflation, the jobless rate has declined and many Vietnamese have the ability to pay their utility bills as their salary and living conditions have been raised. However, I think that if governments only focus on developing their economy without improving other facets, it is likely to pollute the environment because of intensive manufacturing. Producing and trading bring huge profits to every nation, which requires exploiting natural resources to serve it. Lacking policies to protect and regenerate what people harnessed, resources will be soon exhausted which leads to environmental devastation. Besides, educational progress is also important since it helps to form and raise individuals' awareness, which not only provides future experts in economic fields but also contributes to coping with global warming in the human aspect. For instance, after the industrial revolution emphasising mainly manufacturing, every part of the world have been endured the consequences of climate change accounting for a large number of emissions emitted into the natural environment. In conclusion, although economic development is crucial, I strongly hold my statement that other kinds of progress should be equally improved coincidently.