Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain people. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

The major part television plays in the society is to be a source of information and entertainment. None of these roles have more value over the other, it solely depends on the users. For many reasons, the impact level of television carrying out these roles is significant and cannot be overemphasized, and some of these reasons be discussed in this essay. These days, many viewers use television differently based on what suit them. Whilst some people only use the device to source information, such as news, trending topics and hot takes, others only get themselves entertained by watching on screen. These may include Football matches, music videos and movies. In view of these, none of these roles can be confidently weighed over each other, and they are basically selected by user presence. Since the invention of televisions set, to a significant extent, the purpose of this device has been met, useful and critically effective in society. For instance, its role in families cannot be underplayed. From my experience, my children are now able learn school information on youtube, while some other parents also get their kids busy with several informative programs. On the other hand, I noticed that television set has been able to unite several families and create bonding, in the sense that, being a source of entertainment, many homes are able to watch their favourite movies, sport and fashion programs hence, spending quality time together in their houses. In conclusion, societal use of television device is massive and diverse, its core importance of being informative and entertaining is based on viewer's preferences, and its influence has been remarkable over time.