Some people think that secondary school should add international news as a subject; others think that it is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Being aware of not just our surroundings but the whole world has become an increasingly popular debate. Whilst some believe that international news should be incorporated into our higher school education system, others feel it would be a complete waste of time. However, I agree with the latter and will discuss both sides of the argument. On the one hand, some argue that international news must be added to our current curriculum. First and foremost, many people are of the opinion that children must be aware of what is happening on a larger scale around the world. For example, news regarding natural disasters such as earthquakes and floods can only be conveyed through international media. Hence, this may encourage students to learn how to deal with similar situations if they were to experience them. Secondly, if students wish to continue their studies or pursue a career abroad, they must be aware of that particular country's current affairs. For instance, currently, a war is taking place between Ukraine and Russia. As a consequence, if a pupil wished to continue their studies in those countries, they will be deterred and can find better alternatives. On the other hand, many disagree and feel that this incorporation would be a complete waste of precious time. To cite an example, currently, school timetables are completely crammed mostly with essential subjects. As a result, adding another subject would additionally cause unnecessary stress and burden to the pupils. Similarly, core subjects namely English maths and science may be compromised as children would have to further split their already crammed schedule. Consequently, these areas would lack concentration thus, reaping poor results. To conclude, although adding international news as a subject may provide many benefits including increasing awareness and aiding future decisions, undoubtedly, the anxiety of an additional topic, as well as the lack of focus, cannot be overlooked. Therefore, this is why I feel international news should not be embraced as a secondary school subject.