Many people around the world are still relying on the private car as their major mean of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest some solutions

Dependency on personal vehicles is highly increased in the last few years. Everyone prefers to use private conveyance rather than public transport. The trend leads to numerous problems like pollution and traffic jams in the big cities. This essay will also discuss some solutions to these problems. It is undeniable that reliance on private means of transportation is increasing daily, which results in an upsurge of pollutants in our environment. The hazardous emission of vehicles plays a significant role in polluting the atmosphere. For instance, research by the University of London indicates that a single car emits about 20 tons of Carbon Dioxide and 25 tons of Carbon Monoxide gases in 5 years. Additionally, almost every adult has a personal car, which leads to high numbers of vehicles on roads, ultimately ending up in massive traffic jams and accidents. For example, Magazine "Current Happening" reveals that this year there is about a 25% increase in motor vehicle collisions compared to last year. There is no lock without a key. Thus every problem has a solution, but it needs consideration and time to get revealed. Government should come to the forefront and assist in eradicating the problems. States should take steps to promote public transportation use by introducing a fair entry scheme. For instance, the Government of India implemented a new plan last year, under which they made an appropriate free hour scheme during rush hours, i.e. 7:00 and to 9:00 am. Each person without age restrictions can travel free of cost within this time limit, which encourages public transportation. Moreover, under fiscal policies government can raise fuel prices to discourage the use of private vehicles. To conclude, pollution and accidents are the main problems and government can take the above actions to solve them.