Governments often spend large sums of money on spectacular displays to celebrate national events of significance. This money should be better spent on improving social conditions in the country.

It is argued that instead of spending huge sums on exaggerated national ceremonies, governments should prioritise the improvement of social conditions. Personally, even though I believe holding national events is important to countries, I do not think there is a need to overspend on them. Firstly, celebrating national events can foster national culture and boost national unity. However, spending a lot of money for only a few days, such as spending on fireworks displays, seems to be wasteful, especially for developing countries. When many citizens are suffering from poverty and die of hunger, it is difficult to cultivate a country's culture with celebrations. Under this circumstance, ensuring a decent life for all citizens should be a priority. Secondly, achieving national cultural continuity can be done without excessive cost, for example, by paying celebrities to perform for events. On the contrary, people can learn more about their national culture by organizing their own events. For instance, in Taiwan, every local community organizes dragon boat races to celebrate the Dragon Boat Festival. In this way, there are no unnecessary costs and it allows everyone to work closely and celebrate together. Furthermore, the less money is spent on celebrations, the more money could be spent on other social needs to improve education and health services or to alleviate poverty. In conclusion, celebrating national festivals does not necessarily rely on high expenditure. While it is good for citizens to connect as a nation, the best way is not through a spectacular celebration, but rather through providing beneficial services to make the country better in every way.