In some countries there is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g. paper, glass and cans). What are the reasons and what can be done to solve this problem?

Insufficient classification of human waste such as paper, glass, and cans has become a significant challenge for global society, exerting an adverse effect on the environment and public health. In this essay, I will briefly identify the reasons and propose viable solutions to mitigate this problem. The shortage of recycling waste materials could result in less understanding of recycling. Most people perceive waste disposal as a time-consuming household chore and are least concerned about where the garbage ends. Besides, they assume that cleaners would further process and classify the rubbish. As a result, the waste materials are sent to landfills and incinerators and collected in one trash bag. Another reason is that fewer recycling centres and factories are established to categorize rubbish. Many cities are reluctant to build waste recycling plants because they have difficulty with technology, such as the special machines that can recycle various materials and the fuel used by recycling trucks To overcome this dilemma, governments need to put education on garbage classification and initiate processing campaigns. For example, children at school could be informed about the environmental impact of household waste and encouraged to act responsibly from an early age. Also, the significance of waste recycling can be promoted via the television or the internet to foster an environmentally friendly sense of using resources. Another solution is that governments need to encourage more recycling plants by investing in high-technology waste collection and sorting projects, which would strengthen the recycling infrastructure capacity and increase the transfer rate of rubbish to resources across the globe. In conclusion, although there is a situation of inefficient recycling in many countries, governments worldwide should concentrate on improving public awareness about recycling and establishing technological recycling facilities and systems to reduce environmental impacts.