Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit, but others think there are better ways to improve the safety on city streets. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The number of accidents on city streets requires attention from authorities. Many measures have been taken to reduce it, like lowering the speed limit, but that is not enough. Therefore, it is urgent to find other ways to promote road safety. In all probability, I feel better laws and technology can improve this outcome. However, it has been argued that speed limit control is the best way to deal with an increased number of accidents. As a matter of fact, it would only be possible to be assertive if proper research was done in different towns. For instance, some metropolitan areas could have just the speed limit law applied while others could try different laws, like prohibiting mobile phone usage while driving. The latter could be achieved by an app that blocks any kind of interaction between the driver and the device. Finally, with the data retrieved it will be possible to say whether limiting speed or prohibiting mobile phone usage has the best results. There are other steps that should also be tried in order to define which are useful or not. A disruptive example would be smart lights controlled by artificial intelligence that monitors vehicles in real-time. This approach will soon be a rule in developed countries as the technology of automated cars becomes incorporated more generally. In conclusion, I feel that all possible approaches should be implemented, and then an analysis would show the best solution among them. Besides lowering the speed limit, I suggest a law prohibiting mobile phone interaction while driving and encouraging the development of smart technologies to reduce the number of accidents on city streets.