Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don’t really need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

I agree with the first one. At least based on my experience, most of the time advertising makes us buy stuff we want and do not really need. There are several reasons why I agree with this statement. First, it has been human nature since day one that we have tertiary needs that we have to fulfil. When we talk about tertiary needs, it's always something we want, not something we need. With common sense, humans know that they have to fulfil their basic before they buy something they want. But, in many occasions, humans follow their tertiary needs first before they fulfil their basic need. It happens because we often go to the shopping malls, we see the big red sale logo on the shop windows and then we can manage to not go inside the store. After we go inside the store, we see a lot of magic stuff and then we will make a purchase. Second, it is because of the store that has cleverly set up a trap for making us make a purchase. Like they make an advertisement about bundling, give tons of freebies, a lot of discounts, and so forth. It makes us think that we can't lose the opportunity so we have to make a deal right now that time just so we can get the promo. That makes us buy things we don't exactly need. On the other hand, it's so rare that advertisements that tell us about products that might improve our lives has a place in making us buy things. Because actually we don't quite believe in that kind of things. In conclusion, advertising does lots of ways in making us realize the presence of the product in our lives, gives promo and makes us fulfil tertiary needs before the basic needs