Today’s teenagers struggle with many social issues. Some people think that is because their parents are spending more time at work than at home. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the younger generation tends to struggle with many behaviour problems in their lives. Some regard this as a result of a lack of bonding between parents and children since they work a lot. Personally, I think there are two sides to this matter and a mother and a father are not solely responsible for the creation of this abnormality. Firstly, as a teenager, one faces a lot of social and physical adversities and cannot tell what is right or wrong all the time without guidance. The lack of a mentor, if it is not addressed correctly might have everlasting impact. This is a major issue in households, where both parents work overtime and children feel left out because no time is dedicated to them due to parent’s work pressure. For instance, when a child starts high school there are high chances of bullying and depression. Consequently, more and more negative emotions build up in youngster’s minds with no guidance to deal with them. Additionally, some become more aggressive or use chemical substances and drugs to sense relief from the hardship they go through. However, parents's lack of time is not the only reason for a bad outcome on a child’s characteristics. On the other hand, it is universally acknowledged that the teenage phase serves as a foundation for a good personality. There are a number of factors involved in this process of shaping their mindset, like the governmental role in advertising positive behavioural patterns and changing the educational system to support children. For example, schools must take harassment and bullying of all kinds very seriously and encourage students to stand and support each other during troubled times and accept each other’s differences in a matter of gender identity or physical shape. In conclusion, teenagers find themselves in lots of trouble because of how they behave in society which can be a result of the environment they live in or individuals influence. In order to help a child to be a good citizen all aspects of a normal upbringing such as the role of a family and community must be taken into consideration.