People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

Nowadays sugary drinks are spread worldwide and the number of people who are consuming them is rising at a fast pace. However, there are a plethora of reasons why people are addicted to sugary drinks on a daily basis also consumption of drinks can be reduced. The following essay will further elaborate on the reasons and solutions for the aforementioned problem. To commence, the first and foremost reason individuals are addicted to soft drinks is that they get attracted to advertisements that promote soda companies which encourage people towards it. Especially, the young generation is targeted by marketers by promoting the faces of famous celebrities, as a result, many children and young adults follow the ads and drink soda bottles. Secondly, humans like to follow the trends which are introduced to society, likewise eating junk food and drinking soft drinks is a trend nowadays people follow. As an example, the majority of soda drink companies are using famous cricket players to promote their ads, hence, a larger number of cricket fans imitate their favourite cricketers. Thus, the percentage of people consuming soda daily is increasing and people have made this their routine. On the other hand, to limit the habit of compelling sugar-based drinks there are a few steps people can follow. To begin with, the government should encourage people that excessive amounts of drinks bring negative consequences to their health such as high diabetes and obesity. To do this, authorities should publish advertisements or posts on social media about the demerits of drinks soda pop. Another solution could be, for the government can raise awareness campaigns around the world. As an example, the Sri Lanka youth council runs a healthy body program once a month. To conclude, the habit of drinking sugary drinks can be eliminated by the solutions provided by the government and this can bring a positive change to Society.