The education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important, and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Equitable access to education can change lives as it provides financial stability and social equity worldwide. It is argued that although the younger population is educated on a priority basis, providing basic education to illiterate adults is of higher importance. Therefore, the higher governing bodies should spare some budget for this purpose. I strongly agree with the latter and believe that adults pass on their traits to their children. On the one hand, many would disagree and feel that precedence should be given to younger people and not to grown-ups. Firstly, the youth of this day and age are deemed to be our future. Undoubtedly, if they are not educated, who will carry out all the skilled jobs that require higher institutional admissions? For example,doctors, engineers, architects and teachers all need to gain a certain level of knowledge and information before they can carry out their job roles. As a result, they feel it is important that they are the main point of focus. On the other hand, others think that if adults are not educated, how will they help in teaching their offspring? For instance, children are taught at school. However, when they need help with their homework, coursework or assignments, they will need to turn to their parents for guidance. Consequently, if the parents cannot read or write, it will be the child's loss. Furthermore, studies show that those parents or guardians who have a higher level of qualification, encourage their offspring to follow the same path ultimately, teaching them to take the route of higher education. Hence, it is critical that government allows some of its funds to be spent on uneducated groups of adults so that they can learn basic skills. To conclude, education is a gift for those who attain it. I believe that even though the government should continue keeping younger people as the main focus of their educational fund, a small amount should also be spent on educating grown-ups to allow them to become independent. Thus, pass their educational qualities on to their children.