Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?e?

Wild animals have been around longer than humans, and to some extent even humans were once just wild animals. Suddenly not protecting wild animals is a huge decision, which potentially comes with huge changes to the natural ecosystem so I will be analyzing both sides of the argument thoroughly. Firstly, shortly after stopping the protection of wild animals, there would be huge changes around the world. Wild animal populations are already in a difficult position, because of human activities, most prominently by lowering their territory through human expansion, for example by cutting down forests. Wild animals also play an important part in the overall natural ecosystem of the world, without them wild forests, and plants, would suffer greatly. There also would be a large loss in general biodiversity, which is crucial for humans, because we have learned a lot from nature. On the other hand, ceasing the protection of wild animals would free up a lot of human resources which could potentially be used to assist a more relevant cause. It would also grant humans a large amount of currently non-usable territory, because of wildlife regulations, thus increasing the places we could expand to. Both sides have compelling arguments going for them, but after analyzing both sides, the benefits of protecting wild animals greatly outweigh the positive aspects of the other side, therefore I disagree with the statement.