Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How could these problems be reduced?

Nowadays, public debate has been going on about the problem that has been one of the biggest concerns of doctors today - physical and mental issues that arise from the extensive use of video games and how these problems could be solved. In popular belief, over usage of internet games might have an impact on people's bodies, especially if teens are sitting in body-harming ways or spend too much time in front of screens without any sort of eye protection. Time spent playing computer games could result in eye soreness or blurred vision. In addition, using chairs that do not fully support the spine could interfere with the body’s growth and could worsen the gamer’s posture. Furthermore, action or fast pace games might even mess with young people's minds. Making them more impatient and angrier. These sort of psychological changes could affect the way teen interacts with others and also may hinder them to reach great success in the academic world due to lack of concentration. Many doctors believe that such physical and mental problems could be solved by encouraging young people to take up physically active hobbies or at least giving themselves time to relax. In this way, bodies could rest from stress felt during the gaming time and by doing more exercising teens could grow muscles that protect their spine and posture from worsening. However, the best way to prevent such problems is to cut down the time spent in front of the computer and use it to do something more meaningful, like reading a book, talking to a friend or learning a new skill that will be useful later in life. In conclusion, extensive video gaming can cause physical problems such as blurred vision or back pain, as well as psychological issues. Yet, these problems can be solved by spending less time in front of a screen and starting a more active lifestyle.