Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, but others think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen on TV and the internet. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, international travel seems to be popular for people from many parts of the world. Some say going overseas is necessary as a means of learning, while opponents to this way of thinking believe people can also acquire knowledge from television program or online websites. This essay will discuss both views before deducting my personal opinion, using examples from the Chinese government and Oxford University to demonstrate arguments. On the one hand, the importance of travelling toward learning cannot be neglected, since the first -hand experience tourists can have from visiting can better facilitate people's understandings. By visiting foreign places, people are able to communicate with indigenous inhabitants, participate in local cultural ceremonies and immerse themselves into a foreign language. All of these exposures can leave them an in-depth understanding of a nation's culture, history and customs. For instance, recent research by the Chinese government shows that 80% of Chinese travellers stated that they can have a deeper impression about the romantic and artistic characteristics of Paris after talking with residents in French and visiting local galleries. In contrast, learning from TV program or online massage massege are rather passive as a way to receive and digest such abstract information. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that travelling abroad is an effective way for tourists to comprehend knowledge related to foreign countries. On the other hand, those who believe television and the internet can replace travelling as the means of learning about other countries would provide the following reason. By concluding useful knowledge and displing useless information, an educational documentary on television or a professional-edited video on the internet allows watchers to acquire more well-rounded knowledge in a short period of time, while people may find it hard to achieve the same outcome via travelling. For instance, an extensive study by Oxford University indicates that the knowledge about a new place, including historical stories and local cultural mores that one could learn during a 7-day international tour only takes up to 30% of the contents in a 2-hour documentary on television. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that television shows and online websites would provide more comprehensive information for people, which makes travelling unnecessary. In conclusion, it is true that going overseas can provide people actual experience and impressions, even though TV shows and internet pages can allow people to acquire more knowledge. In my opinion, travelling abroad is a necessity, due to the fact that first -hand experience that people can have from exposures is precious and an important part of learning.