Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare people to be useful members for society. Others say that the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people are convinced that education plays a pivotal role because it helps to cultivate useful members of society for a nation. On the other hand, other people consider it an approach to accomplishing personal goals. In this essay, I am going to discuss both of these viewpoints and the reasons why I concur with the former statement. To begin with, being educated is one of the obligations in many countries. Obviously, the purpose of education is to turn individuals into useful members of society. Attending an education system is not only acquiring academic knowledge but learning how to involve in society, which is beneficial for stabilizing a nation. In addition, the faculty of the school is responsible for correcting students' behaviours and teaching them the importance of cooperation, team-working and morality. For example, every Taiwanese high school students need to participate in lessons related to national laws and the consequences of committing crimes such as drug abuse, shoplifting and murder. That syllabus leads to less crime rate. On the other hand, completing personal achievements is another purpose of education. For instance, in western countries like America, students can explore their own interests and speciality. Moreover, they are encouraged to accomplish their ideals. Nevertheless, the consequences without the emphasis on national laws are more civilians tend to behave illegally to get personal goals. Therefore, it is not the main intention of education. In conclusion, the goals of education are including learning how to be a person who can be advantageous to society and achieving one's ambitions. In general, I opine that making people engage in and positively affect society is the principal intention.