Many people are optimistic about the 21st century and expect scientists to make positive changes to the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with their optimism? What changes do you like to see in your new century?

In recent times, members of society have been optimistic about what the 21st century holds in stock and expect experts in the field of science to make beneficial changes to our planet. While this has been a subject of debate, I am strongly optimistic that scientific advances would be made. New technological breakthroughs in the environmental sector would be a welcome development. To start with, there is a myriad of useful developments in the science arena that have positively affected the world in a number of ways. Scientists have invested extensively in the area of medicine and medical research to develop cures for some hitherto incurable diseases in the past. For example, in the heat of the covid-19 pandemic which claimed many lives, scientists came together to develop numerous vaccines such as Pfizer, Moderna, and AstraZeneca, to mention a few, in order to save lives and improve survival. In the future, a number of changes that will salvage our environment from degradation and destruction are expected to be seen. First, attempts should be made at developing technologies that will purify and filter the atmospheric air to void it of respiratory pathogens in order to reduce ill health. Also, advances should be made in the area of protecting the earth from ultraviolet radiation through the provision of some form of shield for our dear planet. Again, attempts towards the generation of clean and better energy would be highly valuable. For example, attention should be focused on the manufacture of cars which use other forms of energy as fuel. In conclusion, individuals are optimistic about the impact of science in the nearest future. While there are arguments about this, I am certain about the benefits that science holds for our planet. Interestingly, researchers should focus on making the environment friendly for all of us.