Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Raising the price of petrol for vehicles and other transportation modes is considered by some people as one of the best ways to solve the environmental problem. I believe there are positives and negatives to this approach which I will analyze in this essay. First of all, I agree that increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles is one of the best ways to solve the environmental problem, because nowadays there are too many cars running on the roads. Almost everyone has a car and do not like to use public transportation because it is difficult to go to work by bus or metro especially from the suburbs. However, if the government raises the price of petrol and make their public transportation systems more enticing, it will make citizens more likely to utilize it. There are multiple methods that the government could implement to persuade people to make more use of public transport and stop using their own cars. For example, if people can get a discount for taking public transportation, they will be willing to do it from time to time. The government could also implement and build infrastructure and systems for people to ride their bicycles. If it is convenient for everyone to rent bikes from one place and return to another, it will become more popular for people to use it and will reduce the amount of time they spend driving their cars which will have a positive effect on the environment. On the other hand, it is not only because of people driving cars and the resultant carbon dioxide emissions that the human-race is having a negative impact on the environment, there are a plethora of other factors which are also contributing to this impact. According to many studies, climate change is caused by many different factors which include(s) making (processing meat) products related to meat, manufacturing factories, agricultural fertilization to grow crops...etc. Therefore, all of these factors and different areas of human activity cause environmental problems which results in climate change. In conclusion, though there are many issues which contribute to the environmental problem, I believe increasing the price of fuel will have an overall positive effect by encouraging people to utilize different modes of transport and consequently reduce the negative impact on the environment.