Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In most schools around the world, young people have their own mobile phones. While these devices can undoubtedly play a role in safety, connectedness and even learning, many places have chosen to restrict them on their campus. In my view, this is a positive step as can be a way to fix cyberbullying and low academic performance. One evident advantage of banning cell phones at schools is related to learning. If schools forbid their students from bringing their smartphones into the classrooms, their grades will quickly improve, because children will be focused on their studies instead of obsessively checking messages and social media feeds. Furthermore, using phones increases the likelihood of developing a short-attention span. According to a recent study, electronic gadgets are disrupting our brains and making us unable to concentrate, which is detrimental to young learners and their academic performance. Thus, restricting the use of mobile devices in any learning environment will only benefit students. Another obvious benefit is connected to cyberbullying. Teenagers often share or post vicious and venomous messages that aim at bullying their peers. While it is arduous or even unachievable to eradicate cyberbullying, at least some can be reduced by preventing children from using Twitter or Facebook during their school day. Young people should feel safe at school and not have to continually check social media accounts to ensure no cruel and harassing messages have been posted on their walls. Due to this reason mobile devices should be forbidden at schools. In conclusion, this essay argued why banning cell phones in academic establishments will help students learn better and feel safe.