To succeed a business one need to know math. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

To be successful in any area of endeavour certain requirements must be met. While some people argue that arithmetic is a necessity for business success, others disagree. In my opinion, I strongly believe that algebra is a prerequisite for a prosperous career in statistics and management. This essay will discuss the reasons for my view and provide a logical conclusion. To start with, there are numerous reasons to support the notion that math is essential for a fulfilling business endeavour. First, management science jobs are highly cerebral and require some degree of mentation. Calculus is therefore needed for performing financial calculations, making analyses, and projections on program outcomes and deliverables. Second, expertise in math is required for adequate record keeping, financial report writing, and business audits, to mention a few. For example, research commissioned in Nigeria in 2018 revealed that about 35 per cent of graduates who applied for different roles in the Central Bank of Nigeria dropped out due to a lack of basic knowledge of math. Also, since calculus is part and parcel of management science disciplines such as accounting, finance, economics, econometrics, and banking, knowledge of mathematics is required to meet the high arithmetic demands that are unique to these disciplines. Without calculations, monetary transactions cannot be accounted for and, ultimately, fraud and lack of prudence would be the end result. For example, the Director of the World Bank is able to oversee transactions and ensure that they agree with the project plan because of his mathematics knowledge. In conclusion, certain requirements are needed in order for employees to perform their duties effectively. While there may be arguments against calculus in administration and mathematical statistics, I believe that a successful career in business requires calculation as a foundation.