Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sweet food and drink can cause many health issues and some people think these products should be more expensive to make people reduce their consumption. This is not a valid suggestion because it can result in other negative problems. One problem that can be caused by increasing the price of sweet food is that it makes people more excited about it. That means when something is less common or out of access, individuals are more curious about it. Take censorship as an example. It is very common among people to watch and hear the news or movies which have been censored. Another reason is that this approach can lead to some wrong behavior and some people may abuse the situation in order to take advantage of people. For example, in Iran, when the government increased the price of cigarettes in order to decline smoking, the result was shocking. That decision not only increased the number of smokers but also created new jobs like cigarette dealers. Additionally, some people who really like sweet food and drink would be deprived of these products, so this approach can make them depressed because they cannot have their interesting food. On the other hand, some people claim that increasing the prices could be practical because people consume less sweet food. This approach would never be beneficial because people usually do not care about the prices and their curiosity makes them eat even more. In conclusion, although some claim that increasing the price of sugary products can be practical, that can bring some more serious problems to society.