SHOULD GOVERNMENT REGULATE THE FAST FOOD INDUSTRIES IN THE SAME WAY THAT REGULATES THE DRUG, ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO INDUSTRIES

In this day and age, contemporary attention has been increasingly placed on the matter of whether the junk food industry needs to be put under control in a similar way as drug, alcohol and tobacco products are. From my point of view, I totally agree with this idea for a number of reasons. First and foremost, convenience food ’s impacts on people’s health are definitely not less severe than those of drugs or cigarettes. In fact, ultra-processed food addicts face considerably higher risks of obesity and certain serious cardiovascular illnesses such as heart attack and high blood pressure, resulting from a tremendous amount of sugar, salt and fat. Needless to say, such fast food -induced health issues are as life-threatening to humans as ones brought about by drinking or smoking, which is supported by the fact that around one-fifth of deaths worldwide are linked to unhealthy diets high in sugar and processed ingredients. Apart from severe health problems, the fast- food industry can adversely influence the planet's environment. In the process of manufacturing and consuming junk food, not only noxious gasses but also poisonous wastes are disposed of into the environment. This inevitably causes threats to humans’ and organisms’ habitats and lives if they are not treated properly. For instance, nowadays, being consistent with a fast-paced lifestyle, there is a growing need for packed meals from fast food chains, namely KFC, McDonald’s and Burger King, which means a lot more disposable plastic items for wrapping and packaging are used. Consequently, more hazardous environmental problems may arise compared to the ones caused by the drug or alcohol industries. In conclusion, I strongly support the opinion that convenience food production and consumption had better be governed owing to the fatal risks they pose to people’s health and the potential harm they may cause to our Earth.