People who read for pleasure in their free time have a better imagination than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading has been a favourite hobby around the world for centuries while the somewhat more recent pastime of watching TV is now arguably more popular. Some people believe TV can provide visual images and ideas which we can use to develop our imagination, but I strongly agree with others who believe that reading is a more effective way to do this because we have to visualize for ourselves and our brains are kept in an alert state throughout. One of the main roles of a TV show is to keep us visually entertained and for that reason all the visual work is done for us; when we read, however, we have to create the visual imagery ourselves. When reading a novel like Harry Potter for example, our imagination is constantly at work visualizing colourful characters, magical objects and fantastical places with no limitations. The more we read, the more our mind roams all over, free to create all sorts of wonders as our imagination becomes more and more powerful. Furthermore, TV is a passive activity designed for you to sit back effortlessly watching; in contrast, reading demands effort, keeping your mind active. Unlike TV shows, books will lead us more deeply into the development and thought processes of a character and the situations in which they are involved. We actively ponder on themes and concepts, becoming intertwined with the characters as our imagination continues to work. As we traverse the intricate worlds of the book, we simultaneously traverse the intricate landscapes of our own minds, helping us to discover its capacity. Hence, as TV dampens our imaginative capabilities, reading enhances them as it further enriches our intellect. There is some evidence to suggest that children use TV content as a springboard to develop imaginative scenarios in their play. I acknowledge that this is a positive outcome however, there is no evidence to suggest this way of developing imagination is better than any other way. In fact, I would argue that children who read will develop stronger and deeper imaginative skills in the manner outlined above, enabling them to create imaginative scenarios freely without needing the springboard. The more the skills are used, the stronger the imagination becomes. In conclusion, although children may use TV content as a springboard toward creative development in play, it is a fraction of that which readers demonstrate. TV shows create a passive state in which we can relax, but reading keeps our minds active and is, in my opinion, one of the best ways we can develop strong and vibrant imaginative prowess.