Crime is a growing problem on a global scale. Some think that crime prevention rather than punishment is the key to solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Growing crime is a global problem and it is increasing. Some people think that preventing crimes is more effective than punishing criminals. I totally agree with this opinion due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To start I think preventing is the most accurate way to stop violations in society. By way of example, if a person who is under lots of pressure and misfortune is going to go south in society step by step due to this situation and if governments put their force on these people and help them to have better jobs, better houses and better ways for their lives eventually there are going to stop thinking about wrong ways and do the things the right way. Moreover, punishment is sometimes a way for some criminals to avoid doing crimes but in many situations, it’s going to make them angrier and more resentful of people and governments and they will stake by their choices for a long time. For example, if a man who commits a wrongdoing is put in jail and after coming out nothing is changed then he needs to do the same thing as before. But if provided by the government to have so privileges like less tax or better jobs, they can be more hopeful that something is going to be different this time around. To conclude, as discussed in the above paragraphs I totally agree with this idea that preventing misconduct is more accurate when the criminals are being helped rather than being punished.