some people think the Olympic Games are an existing event that can bring nations together. Others think it’s a waste of money. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

The concept that nations are united together through the Olympic games is debatable. Some people are of the opinion that the tournament is a waste of money rather than bringing the countries together. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail. I am of the opinion that the former is rightful. On one hand, the Olympic games have got an age-long history where the people of each and every country, train vigorously to gain medals in the International game. There are five rings located on the tournament,which symbolize the union of five different continents. Although, the participants have a competitive spirit, it's the coming together with their fellow contestants which makes them very excited. For example, the Olympic village created for the event indulges the participants to get to know each other's culture, values, and traditions making them grow personally as well. Thus, this historical game is in fact responsible for an intercultural experience. On the other hand, since the game of history is an event of extravaganza it does not come without a price. The hosting countries suffer, as they invest more than 30 per cent of their annual revenue into their organisation. For instance, after the Tokyo Olympics, it took Japan over a period of five years to overcome the bankruptcy suffered. Considering this account, it is an absolute waste of money and time for participating and hosting nations. In conclusion, even though the Olympic event is a game of union for the nations, it is still a question whether it is worth the fortune that goes into it.