Environmental issues have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

Environmental pollution has been an international concern for decades, not because Governments' penalties were not enough severe to deter transgressors. But because the state of the environment is strictly linked to human health and well-being worldwide, is necessary for countries to cooperate to tackle climate change and create sustainability not only in the present times but overall for the future. Firstly, it is important to consider that all countries, as well as individuals, have a responsibility to act in a fair way towards the natural environment because provides the primary conditions to make our existence possible, in terms of clean air and water, fertile soils for food, energy and resources for production. In 1972, for the first time appeared on the agenda of the UN Scientific Conference, (known also as the First Earth Summit) a plan containing guidelines for international environmental action, to exhort Governments to control all those activities accountable for pollution that could lead to climate change. Since then, to the recent COP 27, is undeniable that all the efforts are converged to control and reduce to zero pollutants, but is only through the collaboration of all the involved parties that would be possible. Although, tightening up punitive measures on environmental crimes can help to dissuade lawbreakers, is not the only solution. What really needs to be improved is the system of control behind environmental law. In 2021, the European Commission adopted a new proposal to make more effective protection of nature and natural resources. The proposal establishes not only new sanctions but includes that all authorities involved in environmental investigation crimes will receive training, new investigative tools, better data collection and statistics as well as the faculty to work together across the state's borders to strengthen the effectiveness of the law. In conclusion, only through cooperation between countries and individuals is possible to preserve and protect the natural environment and assure a sustainable life to present and future generations.