Social media is becoming increasingly popular among st all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The popularity of Social media is increasing more than ever before. While posting on Social media has some deficits, these are negligible compared to the benefits. This essay will discuss why the advantages of using social media do in fact outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, Social media enables us to connect with people all across the globe. It gets friends, and families living thousands of miles from each other closer. For instance, when I was in class six, I had to move to the United States of America because of my parental transfer. Even though I had to leave my grandparents,I did not feel lost as I was in constant touch with them. Secondly, internet life makes a person highly popular.It's not very uncommon among teenagers to have the desire to be popular in their school and college. The young peers spend hours every day on Social media and sometimes even build their own websites. For example, when I was in my undergraduate college, I would invest a lot of time and energy building up my own website describing the journey of a dental student. Although it consumed most of my professional life it gave me an identity,which helped me in my overall personality development. While social media does seem to have demerits especially when we post our personal information, it allows hackers to pave the way to our account,and sometimes there are rare instances wherein they have promoted nudity, but the current cybersecurity has mitigated the problems that hamper the system. To sum it up,nothing overshadows the fact that social media was, and will be a boon for humanity, and by far the greatest achievement of the century.