It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As we can see in many biographies, those famous people tended to devote all their lives to their career and made huge contributions, which make some people wonder whether we should take the work-life balance idea seriously. However, I strongly agree that the work-life balance is crucial to our lives. First of all, the meaning of life is solely defined by ourselves, rather than the impact we make on the world. Enjoying family time and building strong bonds with friends is as important as working in our lives. No one is in the right place to say that a good husband or a caring friend is less successful than people who have achieved success in their careers. Secondly, work-life balance is not only beneficial to our physical beings, but also plays a critical role in our mental health. Even machines need to rest from time to time, let alone human beings. Complete devotion to one's work is like sacrificing one's physical and mental well-being for the banal gains which won't serve us any good in the long run. Many workaholics are struggling with chronic diseases and injuries caused by long time work after they retired, which greatly impair their life quality. Therefore, we should always put our health first place. In conclusion, we shall not be bound by the idea that says success means abandoning the work-life balance lifestyle, because the meaning of success in life has various explanations. Besides, we shall take care of our physical as well as our mental health. Hence, we should try our best to have a good work-life balance lifestyles.