Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, as a result of progress in technology a significant number of children are spending many hours every day on their smartphones, In this essay, I will discuss if it is a positive or negative development. To begin with, sadly, a few families instead of spending their leisure time with their offspring   they buy them tablets. In order to keep them busy, thus, they can mind their own business. Accordingly, as kids are spending less time compared to the past we can expect children to have mental issues in the future such as depression or anxiety. Second, despite,warnings there is no certainty that children will avoid sites which are not appropriate for them, they may learn or see some stuff which is soon for their age. Thus, it can cause some health problems like soon puberty, which in a few cases may be dangerous as they do not grow in height enough. For instance, in Iran there is a rapid decrease in the age of kids who are experiencing puberty, so, causing worries for their loved ones. Third, instead of learning new skills, for example, language classes. Parents are using cell phones as something alternative with no meaningful use. On the other hand, some may consider buying cell phones be a brilliant idea as they have access to many cartoons and games. Therefore, they can learn things from playing and watching besides having fun. Also, they may think the new generations are different from the old ones as many things have changed and it is good to be attached to the new life. For instance, influencers on Instagram are actually earning money from their offspring playing games. In conclusion, these days, some young ones are spending time on mobiles and tablets. I believe it is a life-threatening and negative trend.