In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students. Nowadays, new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach ?

Nowadays, the way of using technology to educate students is becoming popular compared to conventional lectures. From my point of view, this trend would create some benefits but there will also be some drawbacks left. On the one hand, it is understandable why using technology in education is preferable as the studying method will be more flexible. Thanks to the advent of Zoom, a social networking platform that allows people to see and contact each other clearly as if they meet in real life, students can study at home or anywhere as long as this place allows them to access the internet. Furthermore, adapting technology to teaching is more time-saving compared to orthodox measures. Students just need to sit in front of their computers in their homes to cultivate knowledge and do not have to spend time going to classes. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to applying new technology to teaching. Firstly, attraction to the virtual realm online can easily distract students from their studies. When students get access to the internet, they are likely to be attracted by video games or social networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram. Therefore, their academic results may be affected negatively. Secondly, teachers from previous generations may not adapt to the sudden change in society, and thus, they meet trouble using technology in teaching. For example, during the outbreak of the global pandemic Covid 19 back in 2019, old teachers had difficulties applying digital devices and platforms to their work. In conclusion, although new technology brings flexibility and helps students save time, it seems to be difficult for older teachers and may distract students from their studies.