Some young people like to copy the behaviour and clothes of famous people today. Why might this be the case? What problems can it cause?

We live in a time and age, where people become viral over the night through social media and its widespread reach. Being famous doesn't take much effort unlike in the past years and the influence on the world cannot be overlooked. Moreover, film actors also play a crucial part in this trendsetting. Youngsters are often seen to imitate these characteristics and the dressing styles of their favourite celebrities. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons for this mimicking tendency and the problems that may arise as a result. Firstly, young adults are influenced by the dressing style and mannerisms of celebrities since these actors are idolized as trendsetters in society. One of the prime reason teenagers mimic actors is their innate urge to appear attractive and be accepted by their peers. For instance, teenagers follow the dressing styles that their favourite stars wore in their latest movies. Secondly, this copycat tendency leads to many issues in the community and the worst among them is when they normalize bad behaviours like drinking, smoking, and substance use. To illustrate this, studies have shown that nearly 40 per cent of youth who are found to indulge in vices at an early age are inspired by their beloved celebs and societal trends. Furthermore, it can affect their formative years and coming of age with unhealthy attitudes rather than exploring the world around them from an unbiased perspective and first -hand experiences. To conclude, most trends prevailing in the population are bound to be absorbed by the youth, be they positive or negative. However, if celebrities and famous people consciously make efforts to spread the message of goodness and moral values, it can benefit teens in a profound manner for a better society.