With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet. What problems may this trend lead to? What solutions would you recomend?

With the advancement of technology and ease of access,youngsters nowadays are exposed to unsupervised access to social media. This usually has a negative impact on the minds of the younger generation.In this essay, I am going to discuss some of the ill effects of social media, and shall suggest ways to tackle them. Teenagers carrying mobile phones is a norm these days and it's not practically possible for parents or guardians to monitor their child's actions every time. Although the internet is a boon to the present generation in terms of education, worldwide access and connectivity, it can also be addictive and keep these young minds engrossed. Furthermore, it also distracts them away from studies and other important things that are essential for their proper development. Virtual reality can have a very negative influence on youngsters if not used well at this age as they are unable to distinguish between what's good and bad for them and end up wasting energy browsing the internet. Rather than spending time on studies and sports which are beneficial, teenagers get carried away with the glitz and glamour of Instagram and Facebook, unaware that real life may not be the same. They may fall for pornography and sexual exploitation. There have also been examples of violence committed by youngsters influenced by their online activity. They may also get demanding and ask for things which their parents cannot afford. Furthermore, they might get competitive because of the influence of bloggers on social media which can have some serious consequences of them getting into stealing and other crimes. In conclusion, I would like to emphasise that parents need to spend quality time with their children and supervise their browsing history as much as possible to make sure they don't fall under any bad influence available online. Furthermore, teachers at school can play an effective role by counselling young minds about the downside of the internet.