Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, some kids are addicted to smartphones and spend several hours in a single day on them. Obviously, there are some reasons that cause this situation while the primary reason is that children have no resistance to the addictive contents in cellphones. In my opinion, it is a negative development for both individuals and society. There are some reasons leading to this case. The fundamental reason is that children are not self-control enough and thus cannot resist the addictive content offered by smartphones. For example, younger are always unable to distinguish the negative things from massive content, such as electronic games, fiction, social media and so on. As a consequence, they are usually eager to achieve some aims in a game or keep a dense connection with certain web users, both of which encourage them to spend some hours on their smartphones. Besides, some companies like online shopping websites, usually recommend specific content to users by analyzing their actions and preference. These commercial activities also increase the time consumption of children on phones. There is no doubt that this situation is negative and leads to some disadvantages. From the individual's perspective, children waste a large amount of time and ignore enjoyment in life. In other words, kids should spend more time and energy learning novel things and accumulating life experiences rather than being obsessed with smartphones. The latter always has fewer benefits even negative influence. From a social perspective, spending several hours every day on their mobile phones degrades children's health and increases their mental and physical illness risks, which promotes social uncertainty and pressure on the medical system. In conclusion, due to the lack of self-control and the addictive content offered by smartphones, children tend to spend lots of hours every day on them, which brings negative impacts on both individual and social aspects.