Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that we are living in a modern world where anyone has easy ways to get access to almost every data they need. As a result, many assume that it is good to be informed of as much information as possible in various fields such as science, business, and the academic world. Meanwhile, others think that some information can’t be shared freely as it is too crucial or treasury. From my perspective, I partly agree with the two sides because I believe that what really matters is the field where data is shared. On the one hand, information should be available for all populations to access in order to provide different communities with knowledge of new discoveries leading to a better future. To illustrate, in the medical field, the data shared not only provides methods to cure illnesses but also helps a lot in an emergency. In the field of commerce, global-shared insights play an important role in promoting globalization which contributes to the overall development and ultimate success. On the other hand, some information should not be widely shared such as top secret and internal information due to the highly competitive market in business. With regard to potential risks, no one can entirely guarantee whether wide-shared information is used by unethical subjects, especially terrorists, for detrimental purposes. In other words, the misuse of academic insights may result in many unpredictable troubles for firms. In conclusion, there are many factors and reasons which make a never-ending conflict between the group of people who believe that academic details should be shared widely and the other group thinking that some information is too vital to be shared. It seems to me that knowledge had better be publicized in the scientific field whereas it should be kept securely in the business field..