Some people believe zoos are good places for people to learn about animals. Other people believe animals belong in nature and it is wrong to keep them in zoos. What do you think? Explain, giving specific reasons for your choice.

Ever since zoos became a thing, they were a topic of debate. Certain people thought that animals belong in nature and should not be locked up, while others believed that it is a useful thing education-wise. I definitely agree with the prior view. To begin with, the main problem with the concept of zoos is the fact that they are not the natural habitats of those animals that are in them. This is concerning for a number of reasons. Firstly, all these animals are locked up in cages, this means they do not have any freedom. This contributes to these animals being frustrated, lonely and sad. For example, we could put ourselves in their position. We would be completely miserable, freedom is the thing that makes us whole. How would we feel without it? Secondly, the reasoning behind the invention of zoos is simply wrong. These animals are isolated for the purpose of entertaining. The price for our entertainment is animals suffering. I find this morally wrong. On the other hand, some people believe that zoos are good for education. They think that seeing these animals first hand will make people understand them more. Even tho it might in some cases, it is not worth the price in my opinion. People can understand them even more if they are observing them in their natural habitat. This is because these animals feel at home there and will act more naturally. To conclude, zoos might be useful is some cases for a better understanding of animals, but the price they are paying is just not worth it.