Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a common phenomenon in today's medical field that more and more patients tend to find alternative medicines and treatments, even though better assistance may be offered by hospitals and clinics. In my opinion, this is a negative development because it would disturb the medical system and lead to serious medical accidents. On the one hand, it seems logical that some people recover from an irregular treatment and thus blindly believe the effectiveness of these alternatives. For example, people in China always leverage traditional Chinese medicine to mitigate symptoms and cure illnesses, while sometimes these manners work. As a consequence, those people choose to believe in the therapy if they get this illness again and recommend them to their relatives and friends. However, regardless of the above arguments, we must be aware of the risks underlying alternative treatments and medicines. From a personal perspective, using unauthorized medicines is risky and might put us in danger. Generally speaking, these alternatives always have not been evaluated by extensive experiments and thus their effectiveness cannot be guaranteed. From the social perspective, the medical system would be significantly impacted by unapproved therapy and illegal operations. These behaviours and activities degrade medical companies' benefits and decrease their confidence and budgets in developing novel medicine. Therefore, abusing unconventional therapy damages both individuals and society to some degree. In conclusion, even though some recovery has been achieved by alternative medicines and treatments, we should believe doctors in hospitals and clinics when we are ill.