Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, shortening working hours is a popular trend in many developed countries. Even still, some claimed that countries, where workers have to work for a longer time, can achieve greater economic success. I personally do not agree with this notion, although understand why working hours are positively linked to the national economy. Admittedly, with longer working hours, the productivity seems to become greater. An extension of working time means more products could be made and more services could be provided on a daily basis. Consequently, businesses can generate more revenue from their extra output and the overall economic outlook of the whole country can reap benefit from this. Nevertheless, workers, as human beings, would be most likely to feel tired after overworking. Therefore, their productivity cannot be guaranteed and in turn, the aforementioned benefit from long working hours may not be obvious as we thought it would be. The primary reason why longer working hours do not equalize higher economic achievement is that the scientific development of a country is more relevant to a country's progress. In this technological era, exclusive and advancing knowledge of modern physics, chemistry and biology, which can be applied in a practical world, can bring about much more profits than merely increasing working hours. For example, recent research by the US government shows that 90% of revenue from selling an iPhone belongs to Apple company which provides technical guidance and design knowledge. In contrast, only less than 4% of the revenue belongs to factories that assemble these gadgets, although workers in these factories have to work more than 10 hours per day and 6 days per week. Thus, it is conclusively clear that long working hours must be not the most important factor in economic development. In conclusion, as a high technological level is the most dominant factor for a country to become wealthy, to claim that a country with longer working hours will become more successful is completely ill-founded. It can be predicted that a growing number of countries would apply themselves to boost their technologies as well as reduce domestic working hours in the future.