Some people think young people should be free to choose their job, while others believe that they should be realistic and think about their future. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of job choice has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that individuals should be realistic about deciding their jobs, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion. On the one hand, those who claim that it is much better to choose their job freely do so for several reasons. Proponents of these arguments insist that pursuing passion would increase an individual’s job satisfaction. To be specific, when people freely choose their occupation considering their interests, they could be motivated and excel in their field, resulting in higher job satisfaction and personal fulfillment. Another argument is that it could lead to one’s long-term success. This means that passion-based job hunting sometimes results in better output such as a promotion and career building. Given these points, some people hold the view that it’s better to select their job freely. My opinion, however, is that young people must think practically with occupation. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that they can earn a greater amount of income and don’t have to worry about unemployment. Generally, practical choices ensure them a stable salary and avoidance of financial difficulties. Another grave issue is that there are some fields that offer more stability and financial rewards compared to other fields which has not have enough job opportunities. Research conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that doctor’s unemployment rate was 9%, whereas that of artists and musicians was 55%, which of five times higher. In other words, passion alone may not be sufficient if there are very few opportunities available. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive. In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that young people should think more about a realistic future.